Sanford Chamber Honors Community Leaders

The Sanford Area Chamber of Commerce has recognized a select group of community leaders at its annual Members Banquet. Before a sold-out crowd at the Dennis A. Wicker Civic Center, Robert “Bob” Dalrymple was among the honorees at the annual event.

Mr. Dalrymple, a long-time school board member, former state representative, decorated World War II Marine Veteran, successful community business owner and active member of his church and community, was the 10th recipient of the Richard Feindel Lifetime Achievement Award, and honored as one of Lee County’s cherished “senior statesmen.” Sanford Area Growth Alliance CEO Joy Thrash presented Mr. Dalrymple with his award and a $1,000 donation in his honor to Christians United Outreach Center, which was provided by DMJ & Company Accounting.

Adcock & Associates co-owners Steve Malloy and David Nestor were honored as the year’s “Business Advocates of the Year.” Their effort in creating this Welcome To Sanford website, was one of many factors cited in awarding them this tribute.

David Spivey, of Jones Printing Company was honored with the Duke Energy Citizenship & Service award for his lengthy dedication to the community. Tommy Mann, Jr., another long-serving and admired Sanford resident, was recognized with the Chamber Dedicated Service Award.

Jeanine Morton, owner and chief operator of Theraplay was the recipient of the Chamber’s Small Business of Year award, and incoming Chamber Chair Doug Gay of Yadkin Bank was honored with the Chamber Chairman’s Award.