Jordan Chaney Honored As Lee County Teacher Of The Year

Jordan Chaney, an exceptional children’s teacher at B.T. Bullock Elementary School was recognized as the Lee County School District’s 2016-17 Teacher of the Year at a special event which honored exceptional teachers from each of the school district’s 16 schools.

Ms. Chaney has been a teacher at B.T. Bullock for the past 6 years, where her responsibilities have also included teaching 3rd grade. She is a graduate of East Carolina University and holds a degree in Elementary Education.  According to her principal Stefanie Clarke, Ms. Chaney is “the type of teacher that every child deserves.”

In total, 16 of our community’s best and brightest were honored for their expertise and dedication to their students.  They include Gwendolyn Babcock, kindergarten teacher, Deep River Elementary, George Beasley, fifth-grade teacher, Tramway Elementary School, Terria Benders, computer & business teacher, West Lee Middle School, Pamela Boyette, third-grade teacher, J.R. Ingram Elementary School, Michele Bursey, pre-kindergarten teacher, Warren Williams Alternative Elementary School, Brian Caldwell, eighth-grade social studies teacher, SanLee Middle School, Robert Davis, eighth-grade English/Language Arts teacher, East Lee Middle School, Sandra Duty, exceptional children’s teacher, Broadway Elementary, Jayme Edwards, first-grade teacher, J. Glenn Edwards Elementary School, Sherry Grello, science teacher, Lee Early College, Callie Hammond, English teacher, Bragg Street Academy, Julie McNeill, director of Academy of Hospitality & Tourism, Southern Lee, DeShanta Prince, exceptional children’s teacher, Lee County High School, Sarah Weekly, elementary teacher, Floyd L. Knight School and Amanda Zeh, physical education teacher, Greenwood Elementary School.

Congratulations to all the 2016-17 honorees and thank you to all our educators,  from all of us at Welcome To Sanford.

For comments from educators, including Lee County Schools Superintendent Andy Bryan, and more details, please read the coverage of this awards celebration from the Sanford Herald and writer Zachery Horner.